Each year, Garioch Roadrunners runs a Club Championship.  To compete in the championship, members have to complete 5 races in total, made up of 4 road races and 1 hill race. Prizes are awarded to the male and female runners achieving the best cumulative handicap times over the 5 races but most importantly, all athletes who complete the requisite races will be awarded a bespoke designed mug to fill with whatever celebratory beverage they so wish (typically tea).

If you want to compete in the Championship, there's more information below.  You can find up-to-date information for Club Championship races on the events calender at the bottom of the homepage and in the Run Diary (under "Running" above). There's also a summary here 

Club Championship Rules

1.  The championship is composed of 5 races, made up of 4 road(ish, one or two races are more trail-focussed) and 1 hill.

2.  The races have been divided into categories, which are Short Road (5k or less); Medium Road (10 miles or less); Long Road (half marathon up to around 15 miles) and Hill (varying distances and difficulty).

3.  Competitors must complete at least one race in the Short Road, Long Road and Hill categories and two races in the Medium Road category.

4.  There are specific races for each category - you can only score points by competing in races listed in the relevant categories (these are all local races, with the exception of Parkruns, which can be completed anywhere).

5.  The scoring for each competitor is handicapped using the WAVA age grading system which adjusts time for age and gender.

6.  Competitors can enter as many races as they like - only their best performance from the Short Road, Long Road and Hill categories and their two best performances from the Medium Road will count towards their overall score.

7.  The hill races have been handicapped using a system called 'equivalent distance', so you are given credit for the metres of ascent in the race.  This means there's no benefit or drawback to entering a hill race with lots of ascent, at least that's the theory...

Last year's winners!

Congratulations to title-retainers (Super)Mo MacInnes and Davie Barclay, who are the club championship winners of 2018. 2019 winners will be announced and prizes/mugs presented at the AGM in March '20.